Sons of the Rapture


by Todd Dills

Sons of the Rapture

sons-of-the-rapture-594x334.jpg
sons-of-the-rapture-594x334.jpg

Sons of the Rapture

12.95

by Todd Dills

Quantity:
Add To Cart

Billy Jones and his dad have a score to settle. Up in Chicago, Billy drowns his past in booze. In South Carolina, his father saddles up for a drive to reclaim him. Caught in this perfect storm is a ragged assortment of savants: shape-shifting doctor, despairingly bisexual bombshell, tiara-crowned trumpeter, zombie senator.

Told from various points of view—each unique, beautiful, and strange—in this debut novel, Todd Dills has tapped into a zeitgeist unique to America. He explores the surly restlessness of youth, the repressed anger of a still-divided country, and the confused joy of perpetual drunkenness. Fans of Barry Hannah and Walter Kirn will recognize a similar investigation of America’s jagged psychology.

Excerpt coming soon

Size: 8.5"x5.5"

Pages: 183

ISBN: 0977199215

Publication date: September 1, 2006


Praise for SONS OF THE RAPTURE

As technically inventive as it is truly intimate and heartfelt, this fiery novel draws upon the grand mythology of the Old Testament and the spirit of Faulkner’s best work. It’s powerful storytelling and a reconciliation of our shared conflicts and histories.
— Joe Meno, author of Hairstyles of the Damned
Sons of the Rapture merges Kerouac, Faulkner, and O’Connor into a unique blend that speaks for young Southern folk coming of age nearly 150 years after the end of The Sin. You’ll find yourself reading for the sound of the sentences as Dills creates characters with voices that scream from the void. This is an assured debut, and I hope Dills never goes quiet.
— Daniel Buckman, author of Morning Dark

About the Author

Todd Dills has been an important figure in the recent history of Chicago independent literature.  He edited the revered THE2NDHAND journal and put on raucous readings on the city’s North and South Sides, bringing literature to the unsuspecting. He now lives in Nashville.

Sons of the Rapture
12.95
Quantity:
Add To Cart

Todd Dills news coming soon.


Other Books You Might Enjoy

The Enchanters vs. Sprawlburg Springs
12.95
Quantity:
Add To Cart
This Will Go Down on Your Permanent Record
9.95
Quantity:
Add To Cart
daddys-cover-200x200.jpg
Daddy's
14.95
Quantity:
Add To Cart